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Interpreve Noce & Formal Opinion (“INFO”) # 16: 
Deducons From, and Credits Towards, Employee Pay 

Overview 

The Colorado   Wage   Act prohibits   employers   from   deducting   earned   wages   from   employees’   paychecks, 
except   in   certain   cases.  Colorado   law   also   limits   the   credits   that   employers   may   claim   towards   paying   the 1 

minimum   wage.  This   INFO   covers   the   subtractions   (deductions)   employers   can   and   can’t   make   from   wages, 2 

and   when   employers   can   treat   certain   amounts   as   counting   towards   wages   paid   (credits).   Both   deductions 
and credits reduce wages paid by employers, but in slightly different ways: 

1.   An employee earns $100.00. The employer subtracts $10.00 for taxes. It “deducted” the $10.00. 
2. An   employee   earns   $3.02   per   hour   in   tips.   The   employer   takes   a   “credit”   of   $3.02   per   hour   to   offset   the 

wages it has to pay the employee, and it pays just the “tipped minimum wage.” See INFO #3. 

Considerations for All Deductions and Credits 

The employer has the burden of showing that it is permitted to make a deduction or claim a credit.3 

Employers must itemize the amount and reason for all deductions and credits in employee pay statements.4 

Example   A. An   employee   earns   $1,000.00.   The   employer   deducts   $200.00:   $100.00   for   taxes   and   $100.00 
for   health   insurance.   The   paystub   shows   that   the   employee   earned   just   $800.00.   This   oversimplification   is 
not   acceptable.   The   paystub   must   show   that   the   employee   earned   $1,000.00,   that   the   employer   deducted 
$100.00 for taxes and $100.00 for health insurance, and that the employee’s net wages are $800.00. 

The   Colorado   Wage   Act   doesn’t   allow any   deduction   that   would   take   employee   wages   below   minimum 
wage, even an otherwise allowable deduction type.   But if an employee was paid at least minimum wage, then: 

●   withholding taxes (or similar assessments) owed by employees doesn’t bring wages below minimum; and 

●   nor does withholding to repay advances of wages (see the section on advances and Example F below).5 

Deductions Required By or In Accordance With Laws or Court Orders 

An employer may make deductions required or authorized by laws such as those for: 

1.   Taxes or Federal Insurance Contributions Act (“FICA”) requirements; 
2.   Garnishments or other court-ordered deductions; and 
3.   Automatic enrollment in employee retirement plans.6 

Deductions for Things Provided to an Employee for Their Benefit, With a Written Agreement 

An   employer   may   deduct   for   loans,   advances   (including   accidental   overpayment   of   wages),   goods,   services, 
equipment, or property it provided to an employee, under certain conditions: 

1.   The employer has the employee’s written agreement to make the deduction; 
2.   The written agreement must be enforceable and lawful; 
3.   The deduction may not bring pay below minimum wage,   as noted above; and 
4.   The things provided must be for the employee’s benefit, not for an employer’s cost of doing business.7 

7 C.R.S. 8-4-105(1)(b) and 8-4-121. 
6 C.R.S. 8-4-105(1)(a) and (a.5). C.R.S. 8-4-105.5 defines employee retirement plans. 

5 C.R.S. 8-4-105(2); Parker Montessori Inc., DLSS Claim   #1681-20 (Hearing Officer Decis. #21-031, Mar. 2021) (affirming 
that the employer owed the employee Colorado’s minimum wage for time worked). 

4 C.R.S. 8-4-103(4); INFO #7: Payment of Wages & Required   Record-Keeping. 
3 7 Code Colo. Regs. 1103-7 (Wage Protection Rules),   Rule 4.2.2. 

2 Colorado   Overtime   and   Minimum   Pay   Standards   (COMPS)   Order   #38,   7   CCR   1103-1,   Rule   6.2;   Colo.   Const.   art.   XVIII, 
§ 15 (2022). 

1 C.R.S. 8-4-105. 
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Example   B. An   employee   uses   an   employer-provided   credit   card   to   pay   for   a   streaming   television   service 
and   residential   energy   expenses.   The   employee   emails   the   employer   to   say   that   the   employer   can   deduct 
those   charges   from   the   employee’s   paycheck.   The   employer   may   deduct   accordingly. Care   Services 
Management, LLC, DLSS Claim #0040-18 (Hearing Officer   Decis. #19-005, Jan. 2019). 

Example   C. An   employer   loans   money   to   an   employee,   who   orally   agrees   that   the   employer   can   deduct 
the   loan   amount   from   their   next   paycheck,   although   nothing   to   that   effect   is   put   in   writing.   The   employer 
makes   the   deduction.   The   deduction   is   not   permissible,   because   there   was   no   written   agreement. Rammar 
LLC dba Napa Nectars, DLSS Claim #2756-19 (Hearing   Officer Decis. #20-044, July 2020). 

Example   D. A   written   agreement   says   an   employee   will   “repay”   a   loan,   or   be   “responsible   for   repaying”   the 
cost   of   employer-provided   services.   It   says   nothing   about how the   employee   will   make   payments.   A 
deduction   is   not   permissible,   because   no   written   agreement   authorized   deductions   from   paychecks. R&R 
Enterprises   Inc.   d/b/a   R&R   Coffee   Cafe,   DLSS   Claim   #5407-19   (Hearing   Officer   Decis.   #21-028,   Mar. 
2021); Luxe Deluxe Inc. dba Luxe Salon,   DLSS Claim   #3410-18   (Hearing Officer Decis.   #19-030,   Mar.   2019). 

Example   E. The   employer   (a   restaurant)   has   servers   sign   agreements   that   the   employer   can   take   the   cost 
of   broken   dishes   out   of   servers’   paychecks.   A   server   drops   a   tray,   breaking   $30.00   worth   of   dishes.   The 
employer   deducts   $30.00   from   the   server’s   next   paycheck. The   deduction   is   not   permissible,   because   the 
written   agreement   was   not   enforceable.   The   employer   did   not   provide   property   to   the   employee   (it   always 
owned   the   dishes),   and   didn’t   provide   anything   else   that   qualifies   as   a   benefit   to   the   employee   under   the 
statute. American   Automation   Inc.,   DLSS   Claim   #0731-20   (Hearing   Officer   Decis.   #21-026,   Mar.   2021) 
(disallowing deduction for employee no-show and for business expenses, such as background checks). 

Example   F: The   employer   accidentally   overpays   an   employee   $400.00   due   to   an   accounting   error.   When   it 
identifies   the   overpayment,   it   may   deduct   the   overpayment   from   a   later   paycheck if (1)   it   notifies   the 
employee in   writing that   it   will   make   the   deduction,   including   the   amount   and   manner   of   deduction   (e.g. 
whether   it   will   be   spread   over   multiple   pay   periods);   (2) the   deduction   is   from   wages   earned   in   a later pay 
period   (not   for   time   that   has   been,   or   will   be,   worked   in   the   pay   period   when   the   employer   provides   the 
written   deduction   notice); and (3)   the   employee   agrees   to   the   deduction,   expressly   or   by   continuing   to   work 
in   the   deduction   pay   period(s).   This   deduction   may   appear   to   bring   wages   in   the   pay   period(s)   below 
minimum   wage,   but   because   additional   wages   have already been   paid,   the   employee’s   compensation,   with 
the overpayment made in advance of the deduction pay period, isn’t below the minimum wage. 

Deductions for Employee Theft 

An   employer   may   deduct   for   the   amount   of   a   shortage   due   to   an   employee’s   theft,   but   only if   the   employer 
filed a   police report claiming theft by the employee,   and then: 

If charges are filed within 90 days of the police report: 
→   The   employer   may   withhold   the   amount   it   reported   as   stolen until   there   is   a   final   outcome   in   the 

criminal case (subject to the requirements on page   1, such as not going below minimum wage). 

If criminal charges aren’t filed within   90   days,   or   the employee is found not guilty,   or   charges   are   dismissed: 
→   The employer owes the employee the amount withheld,   plus interest. 

An employer acting without good faith may owe triple the wages deducted, attorney fees,   and court costs.8 

Example   G. An   employer   believes   an   employee   stole   merchandise.   It   files   a   police   report,   fires   the 
employee,   and   keeps   wages   to   offset   its   loss.   More   than   90   days   later,   the   employee   has   not   been   charged 
with   theft.   The   employer   now   owes   the   employee   the   deducted   wages   plus   interest. JW   Colorado,   LLC   dba 
TweedLeaf, DLSS Claim #3053-19 (Hearing Officer Decis.   #20-074, Oct. 2020). 

Example   H. Similar   to   Example   G,   but   the   employee   is   charged   within   90   days   of   the   police   report.   They 
plead   guilty.   The   employer’s   deduction   for   the   theft   described   in   its   police   report   was   allowed   (but   it   could 
not   deduct   for   thefts   it   thinks   the   employee   committed   in   prior   years,   but   for   which   it   filed   no   police   report). 
ADCO Pro Cleaning Supply, Inc., DLSS Claim #0370-18   (Hearing Officer Decis. #19-003, Jan. 2019). 

8 C.R.S. 8-4-105(1)(c). 
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Deductions Based on an Employee's Revocable Authorization 

If   an   employee   permits   a   deduction,   and   if   they   can   revoke   (change   their   mind   about)   it,   then   an   employer   may 
deduct   for   things   like   medical   insurance,   savings   plans,   stock   purchases,   and   supplemental   retirement   plans.9 

Defined enrollment periods when an employee may revoke a previously authorized deduction are permissible. 

Deductions for an Employee’s Failure to Return Money or Property at Separation 

An   employer   may   deduct   to   recover   the   amount   of   money   or   the   value   of   property   that   an   employee   failed   to 
properly pay or return to the employer when their job ends (their “separation from employment”) if: 

●   the employer entrusted the employee with collecting,   disbursing, or handling the money or property; 
●   the employer and employee had agreed that the employee   would return the money or property; 
●   the employee failed to return that money or property   as agreed; and 

● starting   in   2023,   the   employer provides   advance   notice   to   the   employee, within   10   days   of   their 
separation, that the employer will make the deduction,   including a written accounting specifying   — 

○ the amount of money or the specific property that   the employee failed to pay or return, 
○   the replacement value of the property, 
○ when the money or property was provided to the employee   (to the extent known), and 

○   when the employee should have returned the property or paid the money (to the extent known). 

An   employer   has   10   calendar   days   after   an   employee’s   separation   to   determine   that   the   money   or   property 
wasn’t   returned,   and   to   determine   the   value   of   that   money   or   property   —   an   exception   to   the   general 
requirement   to   pay   terminated   employees   their   final   wages   immediately.  Starting   in   2023,   the   end   of   that 10 

10-day   window   also   is   the   employer’s   deadline   to   provide   notice   to   the   employee. If   the   employer   doesn’t 
provide this notice when it’s required (that is, in 2023 and after), it can’t make this kind of deduction. 

If   the   employee   returns   the   property   or   repays   the   money within   14   days   of   the   employer’s   notice,   then,   if 
the   employer   already   has   made   the   deduction,   it   must   pay   the   employee   the   amount   of   money   it   deducted.   The 
employer must do so within 14 days of when the employee returned the property or paid back the money. 

Example   I. The   employer   believes   an   employee   took   merchandise   off   the   shelf   when   nobody   was   looking. 
It   deducts   from   the   employee’s   final   paycheck   for   the   value   of   the   missing   property.   This   example   does   not 
entail   a   failure   to   return   property   with   which   an   employee   was   entrusted.   The   real   concern   here   is   theft.   The 
employer   must   meet   the   conditions   of   the   theft   deduction   provision   (such   as   by   filing   a   police   report). Luxe 
Deluxe Inc dba Luxe Salon, DLSS Claim #3410-18 (Hearing   Officer Decis. #19-030, Mar. 2019). 

Example   J. The   employer   gives   keys   to   shift   managers.   An   employee   quits   and   fails   to   return   their   key. 
The   employer   pays   a   locksmith   to   retumble   the   locks,   and   buys   a   set   of   replacement   keys,   for   $200.00,   and 
deducts   that   sum   from   the   employee’s   final   paycheck.   This   deduction   was   impermissible.   It   was   for   the   cost 
of   a   service   and   several   keys,   not   the   value   of   the   property   lost.   As   the   “Impermissible   Deductions”   section 
below   notes:   when   employees   impose   other   costs   on   employers,   such   as   property   damage   or   replacing   an 
entire   lock   system,   employers   may   have   other   remedies   —   just   not   payroll   deductions. Baked   Brothers, 
LLC dba The Breakfast Shack, DLSS Claim #1477-20 (Hearing Officer Decis. #21-024, Mar. 2021).11 

Example   K. The   same   as   Example   J,   but   a   written   agreement   authorizes   the   deduction.   The   deduction   still 
is   not   permissible.   C.R.S.   8-4-105(1)(e)   permits   a   deduction   only   for   the   value   of   the   non-returned   property. 

11 In   a   hearing   on   the   bill   adding   Section   8-4-105(1)(e),   a   witness   explained:   “If   the   employee   chooses   not   to   return   that 
company’s   equipment,   then   the   employer   will   have   the   authority   or   the   right   to   deduct fair   market   value   for   the   price   of 
those   materials from   the   final   paycheck.”   Hearing   on   H.B.   1206,   S.   Bus.   Comm.,   64th   Gen.   Assemb.,   1st   Sess.   (Apr.   23, 
2003)   (Heidi   Heltzel,   Colo.   Ass’n   of   Commerce   &   Industry)   (emphasis   added).   “Fair   market   value”   is   the   sale   or   purchase 
price. See   Black’s   Law   Dictionary (“The   price   that   a   seller   is   willing   to   accept   and   a   buyer   is   willing   to   pay   on   the   open 
market   and   in   an   arm’s-length   transaction”); The   Law   Dictionary (sale   price   “in   the   market   under   ordinary   conditions”;   price 
at which a “willing seller, who does not have to sell, would sell, and   ...   willing buyer, who does not have   to buy, would buy”). 

10 C.R.S. 8-4-105(1)(e); 7 Code Colo. Regs. 1103-7: Rule 2.13 (rule that applies whether or not separation was voluntary). 

9 C.R.S. 8-4-105(1)(d). 
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An   employee’s   agreement   to   an   impermissible   deduction   is   void.   C.R.S.   8-4-121.   A   written   agreement   is   a 
necessary   but   not   sufficient   condition   to   deduct   under   a   different   provision   (C.R.S.   8-4-105(1)(b)),   but 
deducting   for   an   employer’s   cost   of   doing   business   is   not   permitted   under   that   provision. R&R   Enterprises 
Inc. d/b/a R&R Coffee Cafe, DLSS Claim #5407-19 (Hearing   Officer Decis. #21-028, Mar. 2021). 

Example   L. The   employer   provides   a   cell   phone   to   an   employee.   It’s   agreed   that   the   employee   has   to   give 
the   phone   back   when   their   job   ends.   In   2023,   the   employee   quits   and   doesn’t   return   the   cell   phone.   If   the 
employer   doesn’t   provide   the   notice   described   above,   then   it   can’t   deduct   from   the   employee’s   final 
paycheck   for   this   issue.   If   the   employer   provides   a   notice   with   the   required   contents,   in   the   required 
timeframe,   then   it   can   deduct   the   phone’s   replacement   value.   (But   see   “Considerations   for   All   Deductions 
and   Credits,”   above,   for   cautions   on   points   such   as   the   need   to   pay   minimum   wage.)   If   the   employee 
returns   the   phone   within   10   days   of   the   employer’s   notice,   then   the   employer   must   pay   the   employee   back 
for the deduction (within 14 days of getting the phone back). 

Requiring Employees to Incur Business Expenses 

Because   “there   is   no   legal   difference   between   deducting   a   cost   directly   from   the   worker’s   wages   and   shifting   a 
cost,   which   they   could   not   deduct,   for   the   employee   to   bear,”   employers   can’t   avoid   deduction   or 
minimum/overtime wage requirements by making employees pay business expenses, if: 

1.   The expense is primarily for the employer’s benefit   or convenience; 
2.   The employer does not   reimburse the employee; and 
3.   The lack of reimbursement would drive wages below   the applicable minimum wage or overtime wage. 

Expenses   considered   to   be   for   an   employer’s   benefit   or   convenience   include   tools   or   other   items   an   employee 
needs   to   perform   the   work,   other   things   the   employee   is   authorized   by   the   employer   to   purchase   for   work, 
property damage, and bills not paid by customers or clients.12 

Employers   can   require   employees   to   buy uniforms only   if   they   are   ordinary,   plain,   and   washable   clothing,   with 
no   special   color,   make,   pattern,   logo,   or   material.   Otherwise,   employers   must   pay   for   or   provide   any   required 
uniform   or   special   apparel,   can’t   require   deposits   from   employees,   and   can’t deduct for ordinary   wear   and   tear.13 

Impermissible Deductions 

No   deduction   is   allowed   if   it’s   not   authorized   under   any   of   the   categories   discussed   above.   For   example,   an 
employer can’t deduct from an employee’s wages — or withhold a paycheck entirely — because the employee: 

1.   Cost the employer an important sale or client; 
2.   Performed their work in a manner unsatisfactory to the employer; 
3.   Was fired, or failed to give two weeks’ notice of quitting; or 
4.   Used company property for personal use, causing wear and tear, or damage, to the company’s property. 

If   an   employer   believes   an   employee   owes   it   money,   but   no   deduction   authorization   applies,   the   employer   may 
have   other   ways   to   recover   that   money.   Although   the   employer   may   not   engage   in   “self   help”   by   making   an 
impermissible   wage   deduction,   it   may   have   other   options   for   seeking   recourse   against   the   employee. 
Employers in this position may want to seek legal counsel. 

13 COMPS Order #38, 7 CCR 1103-1, Rule 6.3. 

12 29   C.F.R.   531.35 (wages   must   be   paid   “free   and   clear”); 29   C.F.R.   531.32(c)   (“the   cost   of   furnishing   “facilities”   which   are 
primarily   for   the   benefit   or   convenience   of   the   employer   will   not   be   recognized   as   reasonable   and   may   not   therefore   be 
included   in   computing   wages”;   listing   several   examples   of   items   primarily   for   employer   benefit   or   convenience);   U.S.   Dep’t 
of   Labor,   “Fact   Sheet   #16:   Deductions   From   Wages   for   Uniforms   and   Other   Facilities   Under   the   [FLSA]”   (“Employers   may 
not   avoid   FLSA   minimum   wage   and   overtime   requirements   by   having   the   employee   reimburse   the   employer   in   cash”   for 
costs   of   items   primarily   for   employer   benefit   or   convenience); Arriaga   v.   Florida   Pacific   Farms,   305   F.3d   1228,   1236   (11th 
Cir.   2002)   (quote   starting   “there   is   no   legal   difference”   above,   continuing:   “An   employer   may   not   deduct   from   employee 
wages   the   cost   of   facilities   which   primarily   benefit   the   employer   if   such   deductions   drive   wages   below   the   minimum   wage. 
This   rule   cannot   be   avoided   by   simply   requiring   employees   to   make   such   purchases   on   their   own,   either   in   advance   of   or 
during   the   employment.”)   (citation   omitted); Koral   v.   Inflated   Dough,   Inc.,   No.   13-CV-02216-WYD-KMT,   2014   WL   4904400, 
*4 (D. Colo. Sept. 29, 2014) (under-reimbursing work expenses may violate Colorado minimum wage law). 
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Credits 

There are only three allowable credits an employer may take towards payment of the minimum wage.14 

● Lodging   credits for   employer-provided   housing.   The   credit   can’t   exceed   the   lower   of   the   following:   (1)   the 
employer’s   reasonable   and   actual   cost   of   providing   the   housing;   (2)   the   housing’s   fair   market   value;   or   (3) 
per   week,   $25   for   a   room   (in   a   shared   residence,   dormitory,   or   hotel)   or   $100   for   a   private   residence 
(apartment   or   house).   The   housing   must   be   voluntarily   accepted   by   the   employee,   and   primarily   for   their 
benefit and convenience. A written agreement must state the existence and amount of the credit. 

● Meal   credits for   employer-provided   meals.   The   credit   cannot   exceed   the   meals’   reasonable   cost   or   fair 
market   value.   Employers   cannot   include   profits   in   calculating   this   amount.   The   credit   is   available   only   if   the 
employee accepts the meals voluntarily and without coercion. 

● Tip   credits   of   no   greater   than   $3.02   per   hour may   offset   wages   of   “tipped   employees”   (employees   in 
jobs   customarily   and   regularly   receiving   over   $30.00   per   month   in   tips).   An   employer   claiming   a   tip   credit 
must   pay   at   least   the   full   minimum   wage   minus   no   more   than   $3.02   per   hour.   If   that   amount   plus   tips   does 
not equal the full minimum hourly wage, then the employer must make up the difference. 

INFO   #1 discusses   COMPS,   the   minimum   wage,   and   credits   towards   the   minimum   wage.   INFO   #3   provides 
more detail on tips and the tip credit. 

For More Information:   Visit   the   Division website,   call   303-318-8441,   or   email cdle_labor_standards@state.co.us. 

14 COMPS Order #38, 7 CCR 1103-1, Rule 6.2. 
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